Alumni @ Limkokwing University of Creative Technology
+
Jason Khoo

Jason Khoo

Graphic Designer, 2009
Bachelor of Design (Hons) in Professional Design (Visual Communication)

Limkokwing University was highly competitive because it had to challenge rivals offering similar courses so my lecturers kept pushing me to do better. This helped me to work under a very intense environment, which prepared me for the tight deadlines and high expectations of the advertising and graphic design industry once I graduated.

27 February 2009

Moving Freely

Written by Catalina Rembuyan

Freelance designer and now director of his own company, Jason Khoo, takes some time off to tell us of his life as a freelancer and the many different routes he has taken to arrive at where he is today. Catalina Rembuyan has the story.

Jason Khoo Boo Hooy is no stranger to the diverging paths that life can throw at someone. “Believe it or not, there was a time when I earnestly thought of becoming a professional snooker player – of course, back then playing snooker professionally was not viewed as a viable career option.”

When he first completed his secondary school studies, he had already enrolled at a different institution before his aunt found out about Limkokwing University and dragged him out of his previous college to study there. Jason, who was then a mere kampung boy from Kedah, had not heard about the institution yet, and was drawn to the lucrative potential of multimedia studies before later discovering that his real passion lay in graphic design.